About Us

The Midwest Chapter of the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law, now known as Midwest AAPL or MWAAPL, was founded in 1983 by Drs. Phillip J. Resnick and Emanual Tanay. Dr. Resnick also served as the organization’s first president.

The Midwest region includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Minnesota, Missouri, South Dakota, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Pittsburgh, PA.

MWAAPL shares a mission with our parent organization AAPL to promote scientific and educational activities in forensic psychiatry through resident awards, mentorship, scholarly collaboration and an annual high-quality meeting.